Free Trial   Request a Call Back

0845 129 4888
or +44 1932 358350 from abroad

SELLERDECK BLOG

Top Tips for Upgrading to SellerDeck 2013

Written by Jenny Bray
Wednesday 06 Feb, 2013

Jenny Bray, Product Specialist <br />at SellerDeck

Jenny Bray, Product Specialist
at SellerDeck

Install a Separate Installation

When installing SellerDeck 2013, you will be presented with a tick box suggesting upgrading your previous version. We suggest to not have this ticked, this means that SellerDeck 2013 will install on your computer as a separate installation, which will enable you to run both SellerDeck 2013 and your previous version at the same time.

Plug Ins

If you have any Plug Ins built and put into your site. Contact the plug in company, to see if you need to upgrade these too. Thus, making sure you do not encounter any unexpected errors.

Download your orders

You will need to download any orders from your live site before upgrading. This is so that you do not loose any of your orders, for newer versions cannot download older version orders, as well as the orders getting upgraded with the rest of the site.

Suspend your catalogue

Suspending your catalogue during the upgrade means that customers cannot order while you are going through the upgrade procedure, thus, not loosing out on any orders. To suspend your shop, go to ‘Settings’ | ‘Business Settings’ | ‘Ordering’ and change the ‘Online Ordering’ from ‘Allowed’ to ‘Suspended’. Then publish this to the web.

Note: This will display CATALOG SUSPENDED on your site, instead of the Add to Cart button. If you wish to change this to an alternative message, go to: ‘Design’ | ‘Text’ | ‘Website Continued’ | ‘General Information’.

Download Orders Again

It is best to download orders about 15 minutes after suspending your catalogue. This is again, so that all your orders get upgraded along with the rest of your site.

Create a Snapshot

The easiest way to upgrade your site is to create a snapshot in your previous version of SellerDeck, and importing this into your SellerDeck 2013. This will then upgrade your Design, Payment and Data.

Back Up

Once your site has upgraded, back it up! The last thing you want to happen is to loose any data and start again. Create a Snapshot, this will mean design as well as data has been backed up and saved.

Test Mode

Once the site has finished upgrading into SellerDeck 2013, test your site in Test Mode. (Go to ‘Web’ | ‘Switch to Test Mode’). This will mean that when this is uploaded onto the Web, it does not override your live site. You then have the ability of testing your site! Completing a few dummy orders, and make sure everything works, before going live. This way if you do encounter any errors, your customers to not see this, you can get them fixed before going live.

Allow Ordering

Before uploading in test mode, you will need to ‘Allow Ordering’, that way you can test your checkout and order processing. There’s nothing worse than uploading and finding that you cannot order anything.

Ready, Set, Go Live

After completing the upgrade and testing your site, now is the time to go live and upgrade your online store. You need to switch the site into ‘Production Mode’. (Go to ‘Web’ | ‘Switch to Production Mode’). You now need to refresh your site. Go to ‘Web’ | ‘Refresh Website’. This is now uploading your site in live mode.

Check Your Version

Once you have gone live with SellerDeck 2013, check that your online site has fully upgraded. To do this, go to your website and type “/acatalog/ver.fil” for example: www.domain.co.uk/acatalog/ver.fil this will show a blank page stating which version you are live in.

Note: You may have renamed the Online Store Folder to something other than ‘acatalog’, for example ‘shop’ to find out what this is click ‘Web’ | ‘Network Setup’ and look at the Online Folder name.

One Last Test

Once you have finished uploading your site in Live Mode, do one last test.

Happy Selling.!

Return to previous page